Here’s what we think about politics:

My interest in politics is probably just as much as any average adult: When the time comes around to vote, I look at my options and I make a well balanced choice. What happens afterwards is absolutely mind boggling, because I don’t give one little sh*t whatsoever about how politicians handle their promises or how my country is being governed. I live in the Netherlands and we’re amongst the top fifteen wealthiest countries in the world, so there is no need to worry, but that doesn’t justify the general lack of interest (myself included) in politics.

What does justify my lack of interest, and hopefully for a lot of others as well, is how insanely boring it is. They say a government should be a reflection of its countries inhabitants. If that is true than my country exists of people who: only wear suits, lack any sense of humor, can only have angry discussions and completely change their opinions as often as the tides change. That last one actually is kind of true, but that’s also why in my opinion politics need to change. Our society is constantly subdued to change, take for example how companies are changing their strategies. Nowadays if you don’t have a company that puts the customer first, you’re more likely to fail or at least delay real success.

In politics there has been a decline in interest for over 20sum years. I think that’s because the entire political landscape hasn’t changed and in my opinion it should! Not only should it be done, I believe it can be done! When I said in the beginning of this blog that my interest in politics were below average, that was actually a lie. My interest in politics, as they are right now, are below average. However, I care about where the world is going and I’d love to change a few things. I have my own ideas about this and I’m interested in people having an A-Typical view on politics, thus, I do care. There is this book I read that fascinated me. The book is written by Colin Hay and it’s called “Why We Hate Politics”. In the book he tries to answer questions about: why we lack engagement in politics. Moreover, he also gives some insights as to how it can be done differently. If you have the same dislike in (current)politics as I do, I recommend you to read this book and you have my word; you won’t regret it.

In the Netherlands there’s a trend going on in local governments which is called “civilian participation” and it’s basically this: if you have an idea about something in your city that needs to happen or change; say for example a local playground hasn’t seen any form of maintenance in years and it’s time for something to change about that. You now have the power to do so. All you have to do is come up with a really good way to make others see the necessity behind the maintenance and town- or city hall will give you the green light and the needed funding.

Another example is one that I recently read about, because it was initiated by someone living in my neighborhood. This individual had the idea of bringing people together from different backgrounds and cultures. In her plan she wrote that she wanted to bring people together and she thought the way to do so was by letting others cook for each other and thereby literally tasting someone else’s culture. In realizing this, not only did she manage to let people invest in other cultures, she also worked out a business plan which showed money could be made by realizing this initiative.

If done correctly it would draw in a lot of visitors who will spend money by buying the food prepared by others. This isn’t anything ground breaking, because there are all kinds of food markets where you can taste different kinds of food. However, the major difference here is that this won’t be about entrepreneurs. This will be about your mom serving that wonderful dish she makes so well or that ‘so called’ secret recipe of your uncle that he never shares with anybody. Kitchen equipment will be supplied by sponsors and the only thing the government needs to provide is a permit that says: we approve this!

As with so many things this initiative probably got lost along the lines of bureaucracy. People would be making money, but they aren’t licensed to make money in that way, so they’d avoid paying tax and that would be all wrong and biggetyhumpettyfliggerygofuckyourself! Welcome once again to the world of politics.

Even though this initiative got tossed in the slammer, the bright side is that there are signs that we are slowly gaining influence ‘at least’ in local politics. It’s still a long way from nowhere, but A-Typicalness simply doesn’t happen overnight.

There are other signs of a ‘Sharing Civilization’ making its way into our everyday lives. This starts by small steps such as an Uber or Airbnb, but they pave the road for other ways of sharing:  like apps where you scan your area and see if there’s someone nearby where you can enjoy a meal, because it’s a cheaper way for both people to eat! Carpool with others who are heading in the same direction and would otherwise travel alone.

In my opinion these developments are all signs we are unknowingly giving out that we don’t need politics to change us. We came a long way: from believing in Greek mythology, Norse Mythology to other Gods and Goddesses, the church, Kings and Queens.
Luckily we learned to think for ourselves and overcame a lot of these old ways of the world. I hope somewhere in the near future our current way gets added to these old ones.
Or as a wise man once said:

‘Politics has the power to change people into pawns, but pawns don’t change people. People change people, so don’t let Politics Pawnify the People”
– A-Typical (2016)

Stay strong and always think for yourselves!

Politically yours,

A-Typical

3 thoughts on “Here’s what we think about politics:

  1. Well, I guess you summed up my experience of Holland. I’m half way between Zeist and Ede, by the way.

    As to pawns, I lived in Germany long enough to realize that pawns really were pawns – but even as pawns, the politicians listened to them. And acted. I had no political rights there, but in the way people showed what they wanted in between parliamentary elections, I felt engaged because on occasion my voice was heard.

    Returning to Britain later in life I regained my right to vote.

    With the British attitude to politics being “I vote every five years, that’s good enough for me.” I really felt as if I had lost all political representation I ever had! It was a very sad time for me, I can tell you. What is a vote worth when pawns prefer being pawns and not people – and the politicians are little better.

    Like

    1. Hey Gemma,
      maybe that is partially what we feel. Sometimes it seems like politicians don’t listen or neglect to listen to its pawns at all!
      I just think that with technologies evolving in the blink of an eye it could be possible to get a closer to us?
      Maybe it could be something as simple as an app that shows people political topics. They simply swipe right if they like them and left if they don’t (kind of like tinder). this might have a positive influence in two directions: Politicians will be more up-to-date about ‘the public’s’ important topics and the public will be more politically involved, because they know what is being discussed.
      If politics and the people find a way to get closer this would also save a ton in campaigning costs because the public knows which party stands for what. So then, even if you vote once every 5 years, you’d feel involved because in between elections, in a way, your voice has been heard.

      Like

      1. What I found in Germany was that you didn’t need technology for the politicians to listen. They listened because people turned up and made their point in front of the Landestag or the Bundestag.

        You don’t need an app for a politician to do the job he’s been doing for the last two millennia and more. The point is that British politicians have a particular difficulty in listening to those who voted for them – but have no problems when it comes to mismanaging their expenses (and thus getting into the kind of trouble that means they will vote in a certain way should the need require).

        Voting every five years and forgetting about it usually has the politicians forgetting why they go to work each morning. It also means that most people forget about politics in between election times.

        Which is why I enjoyed living in Germany so much: the politicians were constantly reminded of who they were representing … and it isn’t the big corporations.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

