Flickr

Wasteful thinking

10 thoughts on “Wasteful thinking

  1. Fair enough.

    My question in response to all this is: what can we learn from such activities?

    After all, we’re here on earth to learn, and that usually means making mistakes. And then learning from those mistakes. In this respect, how does being part of a fad help one?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Entertainment, having fun and enjoying life. Not everything we do has to have meaning, not everything we do has to amount to society and not everything we do has to be a lesson. We learn new things every day and even things that seem “meaningless” can learn us things, however small or trivial. Sometimes we just need to stop worrying about how we spend our time “effectively”, and just enjoy ourselves 🙂 if it makes people happy, happiness in and of itself is already something very valuable that the world could use more of. This isn’t just with fads, it’s pretty much with all forms of entertainment. Believe me, there are definitely fads and ways people entertain themselves that make me roll my eyes but at the same time, if they’re enjoying it I think that’s great for them. Who am I to judge how other’s bring joy into their lives? I think it’s amazing if people bring joy into their lives and if they’re able to bring that same joy into other people’s lives, that’s even more incredible.

      Like

      1. Okay, so shall we do a little untangling, shall we?

        In our world there is too much of the “I think that I’m enjoying myself because everybody else seems to be”. I was watching Dutch telly with my mate Hendrik the other day, and kids were encouraged to enjoy riding around in a cart in the centre of the studio. They obviously enjoyed it… the question isn’t that they enjoyed it, but WHY were they enjoying a seemingly vacuuous activity?

        Not only that, it was being broadcast on national TV.

        Perhaps they were enjoying being on TV and thus seen to to enjoy themselves??

        The real issue here is that too many fads are contrived for purely commercial purposes – the TV programme being one, there are others. And yes, it does make people happy.

        Only will they still be happy when the power goes down and the lights go out?

        Left to themselves and without the stimulation from such fads… there’s little that will move the dull mind save violence. If you don’t believe me, just look at the British telly: on BBC 1, the levels of violence – gore, if you will – are more than on BBC 2 which is aimed at people who can think.

        There’s nothing quite like an autumn morning and the sun reflecting off the dew like diamonds to make a truly human soul happy.

        Like

      2. We all have our own hobbies, we all have different things we enjoy. Even if that joy comes from a temporary fad, at least there was joy. In the end the politics behind a certain hobby or fad don’t really matter if we focus on the joy it can give people.

        The whole point of joy is that you don’t have to think about it too much, that you can let yourself and your mind go. That for a brief second you can attain a sense of wonder, maybe be a kid again. It doesn’t even really matter if somebody’s making money off of it, people are always making money off of something. The only thing we need to worry about is entertaining ourselves. Even if we think somebody else’s fad or hobby seems stupid, as long as they aren’t hurting anybody with it, I can only be happy that other people are enjoying it. 🙂

        Like

      3. When you say, “It doesn’t even really matter if somebody’s making money off of it, people are always making money off of something.” – Can’t they do something proper for a job? I mean, a standup comedian entertains people, and get paid for it. Starting a fad isn’t exactly what our world needs.

        As for that brief moment of wonder… there is a way to live one’s life where that moment of wonder spreads itself across the day. If a person loves what they do for their work, it’s quite likely that they spend a lot of time enjoying themselves.

        I did – and do.

        I pity those who are trapped on the commercial treadmill and cannot.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Eli Woodbine

      we cannot have more time… but we can use that which we have with more care.

      There’s an exercise I do, which requires meditating about a seed for five minutes. Believe me, those five minutes stretch out into the hours when you’re not used to doing things for yourself. I experience this too when stirring some homeopathic remedies for my garden – and these need stirring for an entire hour! This is what it felt like…

      So much for horn silica. It does work, but it does take stirring. Which is where, a few years ago, my problems started. I took out the glazed pot that I used for stirrings, filled it with fresh rainwater, found a suitable stick to stir it with and went to brew the tea. When the tea was made, I was ready to go!

      Sitting on an old folding chair, I started stirring. Now, where I live, we have two local trains an hour and four inter-cities. In each direction. One local train had just gone by, which marked the half hour. So my reckoning was that as the second one passed me, it would be time to stop as my hour would be up.

      So there I am, stirring and stirring. My tea drunk and I am still stirring. First one way, forming the funnel and then turning it in on itself to form a chaotic splashing before it forms itself into the reverse direction.

      It felt like well over half an hour by the time I realized that there weren’t any trains going by. I became a little worried that there weren’t any, after all, in half an hour, there should have been two inter-cities travelling towards Utrecht. The length of time I had been stirring, it could only mean one thing: there had been a terrible accident!

      So I whipped up the water so it was travelling quickly – because during the hour of stirring, the water may not lie still for even a moment! I quickly nipped inside the house to check the clock in my living room.

      Five minutes had passed.

      It felt like an absolute age!

      https://gemmasponderings.wordpress.com/2016/08/16/beyond-newton-4-stirring-the-horn-silica-preparation/

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for sharing Gemma! A very interesting thought. Between my full time job, writing 2 books, blogging, music and training for a half marathon.. I’m rarely gifted spare time.

        Of course this is entirely my choice.

        Thanks for sharing an interesting way to slow down time.

        I meditate daily. Usually after writing.

        Eli

        Like

Leave a Reply

