I really, really don’t know?!

Imagine if you will, an entire classroom filled with the most motivated bunch of students you’ll ever see. Now, the lecturer has been at it for quite some time and comes at a point in his story where he wants to interact with his audience. He starts scouting the room and his head starts moving in your direction. As you’re slowly watching it happen, you feel his eyes are now directed at you. Whilst staring uncomfortably into his eyes he asks the question: “Where do dreams come from and why do we even dream”?

As the question still resonates, neurons in your head start moving past the speed of light to dig up something you’ve read somewhere about your subconscious taking over during the night and processing everything that happened during the day. Not quite sure what to say, let alone how to say it, you still feel the burning eyes of the professor and the rest of your fellow students eagerly awaiting an answer, because the silence is awkwardly long-lasting. Beyond despair you start rambling about subconsciativity and dreamacious adventures, but if you hadn’t felt it already, the look on the professor’s face says it all and with one final look, you’re surprised to hear him thank you for being the best example he could’ve hoped for. You have just proven how hard saying three little words is.

Why didn’t you just answer with “I don’t know?” Because, as it turns out those three words are amongst the hardest words one ever has to say. It’s something that’s been engraved into our brains in the same way capitalism has and maybe there’s even a causality to be found there, but to be honest: I don’t know. I don’t know and it’s true what they say, ignorance is bliss. I don’t know where I’ll be in ten years, five years or two years and I really don’t give a little mouse’s behind. If everyone knew what they wanted and no one would’ve ever had the guts to say ‘I don’t know’ who knows where the world would have been by now?

Newton would’ve seen the apple fall, pick it up and go about his way because, that’s just how it is. Einstein’s relativity theory wouldn’t have come into existence, because, you know, light. Had Isaac and Albert not have said to themselves; “I don’t know why that apple falls” or “I don’t know why light behaves the way it does”, by now their names would have probably been wiped out by the hands of time.

All I’m trying to say is that it’s completely normal to not know, because apparently the best things happen if people don’t know and if we knew everything, wouldn’t life bore us to death? Every coin has its flip side, so does actually ‘knowing’ make the worst things happen? This is the point in my story where the capitalism from before is mentioned once again. Capitalism, in my opinion (I feel obliged to say this) is to us what honey is to bees, because we stick onto it like gum sticks to pavement. Also, because there’s so many people ‘knowing’ this works it just keeps steaming ahead.

If you put the world as it is today into perspective think about how completely bananas it is. “the 62 richest people in the world are just as wealthy as the poorest fifty percent.” To make it even worse; the poorest are getting poorer and the richest are getting richer. If this is the first time you’re hearing or in this case reading about this I’ll give you a minute to let this sink in, or if you want to straighten the facts, now is the time to consult the biggest know-it-all in the world over at www.google.com

This might start to look like some anti-capitalistic blog, but trust me this isn’t anything like it, because if it were I could go on for hours discussing what I think works and what everyone else thinks works. It’s absolutely fascinating to even think about it, but that’s not what I’m saying. All I’m saying is: “I don’t know”.
“I don’t know” and if everyone else would come to the same page as to not knowing. perhaps together we can make a civilization that will still resonate hundreds of years into the future, because we did not know how the world could be a better place, but we’ve put at think-tank of almost 8 billion brains together. We’ve figured it out and now we know!

Until that time comes, us A-Typicalizers will keep on not knowing and so should you.

Unknowingly yours,

A-Typical

Image taken by A-Typical (that’s Jordy)

9 thoughts on “I really, really don’t know?!

  1. I agree completely! One of my pet peeves is people responding to my saying “I don’t know” like I’m an idiot. I would rather not give an opinion at all than give an uninformed one but it feels like there’s so much pressure to know and have a stance on every little event.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Amen to that brother. Nobody’s an expert on everything and people who claim to be are just stuck-up and pretentious. Sometimes it is better to not say anything at all and admit you just don’t know. The truth will always come out in the end. The people trying to back us in a corner and trying to make us feel stupid are just player-haters. Not knowing keeps us curious.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. When I first decided to live abroad, I felt I couldn’t tell people until I knew how I was going to do it. If I told someone, I felt the need to explain why I didn’t know how or where. I felt it was weak or flighty to not have a better plan. I would get a look of horror from most people and they’d come up with all kinds of reasons not to leave or just confusion. Then I got tired of explaining. After that, when I told people I was leaving at the end of the year, they’d ask how or what I’d be doing. I’d say I don’t know, but I’m going. I would see the same terror and when I didn’t try to justify, the horror would turn to something else and they would tell me how brave and strong I was and how they wish they could be like that. This happened every time I said I don’t know. I was so busy worrying about appearing weak that I almost gave up my true strength of honesty and surrender. There’s no weakness in “I don’t know”.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing. Sometimes the best moments of our lives are decided by us not knowing what’s next for us. We take risks and those risks can end up meaning something incredibly valuable. It took bravery for you to make the decision and I hope you’re happy wherever you are! We shouldn’t let our lives be decided by the expactations of others. Stay adventurous! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

