Wikimedia Commons

Teetotally awkward

I am a teetotaler. It’s not a very common word and not many people know what it means but that’s probably because it’s not common for somebody to practice teetotalism.

Teetotalism is the practice of complete abstinence from alcoholic beverages. It orginates from the temperance movement founded in the early 19th century in England.

I’ve never had a drink in my life, not even a single beer. I also don’t smoke and do drugs so consider me straight-edge, just not with all the punk stuff around it.
Now, I don’t consider myself to be better than most people who do drink, but I do consider myself an exception since pretty much the whole world drinks. I honestly don’t know anybody in my personal environment that is my age or older, and sometimes even a little below my age, that does not drink alcoholic beverages.

I can’t keep track of the amount of times I heard the question: “Why don’t you drink?”, and every time I feel a bit awkward explaining why I don’t. The reason I don’t drink is because:

  • It’s not good for you
  • I don’t like the long and short-term consequences it has on people
  • I don’t like the taste
  • I don’t think it’s worth it to get the taste for it
  • It usually costs more than a good old soda pop or water

It can sometimes be quite difficult explaining these things without sounding like a judgemental, self-righteous a-hole. But I also don’t want to tell people a made-up reason just to make them feel less bad about themselves.

A lot of people will tell me they don’t care but these people are also the ones that get agitated and start discussions with me. I know, I like to sometimes add a little fuel to the fire to mess with these people but I always stand by my believes.

Don’t worry, I don’t think you’re any less of a person for drinking alcohol. I just don’t understand why there are so few people who don’t drink because I feel like the abovementioned reasons are quite reasonable.

Again, even in this blog post I find it awkward and somewhat quite difficult to explain my beliefs and my practice of teetotalism without sounding too judgy. I won’t go into any more details to further explain why I believe alcohol is bad but I will say this one last thing:

Drink sensibly and stay safe.

Teetotally yours,
A-Typical

 

 

Leave a Reply

